In Memory of

I’m not sure I’m cut out for fiction writing or non-fiction storytelling. However, I won’t let that keep me from trying my hand at it. I’ll be posting a true story on Remembrance Day about a great uncle who died in WW1 at the ripe old age of 17. His is a common story of Canadian boys who volunteered in the war effort; underage and inexperienced. If your parents wouldn’t sign you up, someone else could act as your guardian to vouch for you. In my uncle’s case, a stranger he met on a train to Montreal. 

So many young lives snuffed out fighting a brutal war. Many small towns in the Atlantic provinces lost entire streets of young men and the hardships in farming communities was incalculable. Some families lost both fathers and sons. 

So, in honor of my uncle and the many men, young and old, who sacrificed their lives, I’ll put aside my pride and share Edward Frank Brown’s story. Stay tuned.

 

This entry was posted in Random Ramblings, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

